Editor in Chief
Thomas A. McCoy, CLU

Senior Editor
Nancy Doucette

Associate Editor
Elisabeth Boone, CPCU

Associate Editor
Dennis Pillsbury

Vice President, Alternative Risk
Michael J. Moody, MBA, ARM

Editorial Assistant
Alice A. Roettger

Production/Advertising Coordinator
Tricia Cutter

Art Director/Photographer
Paul Riley

Graphic Designer
Linda A. Lange


Contributing Editors

Scott Addis

Robert L. Bailey

Kevin P. Donoghue, CFA, CPA

Linda D. Ferguson, CPCU

Kevin P. Hennosy

Bruce D. Hicks, CPCU, CLU

Emily Huling, CIC, CMC

Joseph J. Hunter-Lattak, CPCU, AIM, AMIM

Larry Linne

John Love

Donald S. Malecki, CPCU

Sean Neumayer

Kimberly Paterson, CEC

Roger Sitkins

Len Strazewski

Editorial Advisory Board

Scott Addis, CPCU, is president of The Addis Group in King of Prussia, Pennsylvania,
and is president of Addis Intellectual Capital.

Andrew Appel is vice president of Gregory & Appel Insurance in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Steve Brown is president of Hoffman-Brown Company, in Sherman Oaks, California.

Glenn Clark is president of Rockwood Programs in Wilmington, Delaware, and the founder of
Target Markets Program Administrators Association.

Karen Farris is president and CEO of Roach Howard Smith & Barton in Dallas, Texas.

Roosevelt Haywood III is a principal with Haywood & Fleming Associates, Gary, Indiana.

Tommy Huval is president of The Huval Companies, a Brown & Brown subsidiary
based in Lafayette, Louisiana.

Lew Kachulis is a principal of Gilbert’s Insurance Agency, Inc., Sharon, Pennsylvania.

Kelly Shepherd Kakone is president of Shepherd Insurance and Financial Services, Carmel, Indiana.

Robert N. Kretzmer, CIC, is an executive with V. W. Brown Insurance Service, LLC, in Bethesda,
Maryland, and the executive director of Rough Notes magazine’s Community Service Award for
independent agents.

Jeff Kweder is chief financial officer of Shepherd Insurance and Financial Services, Carmel, Indiana.

Ronald R. Lensing, CIC, is executive vice president of Ramsey, Krug, Farrell & Lensing
in Little Rock, Arkansas.

T. Gray McCaskill is president of Senn Dunn, Greensboro, North Carolina.

Robert E. Mackoul is CEO of Mackoul & Associates in Long Beach, New York.

John Love, CPCU, is president and executive director of TechAssure.

Chris McVicker is president and CEO of The Flanders Group in
Pittsford, New York, which focuses on six specific crevice markets.

Ted Pappas is president of The McLaughlin Company, a Washington, D.C.-based agency.

Robert Phelan, ARM, is chairman and chief executive officer of the
Litchfield Insurance Group, Torrington, Connecticut.

Markham F. Rollins III is co-chairman and CEO of the Rollins Agency, Inc.,
in Tuckahoe, New York.

Valarie Webster is vice president of client relations for The Flanders Group,
Pittsford, New York.

Scott White is a principal and sales manager of Hetrick & Associates Agency,
Marquette, Michigan.


Advertising Sales

Eric Hall
Vice President - Advertising - National Sales Director
Phone (800) 428-4384; (317) 816-1022
Fax (317) 816-1000

Dick Schoeninger
Vice President - Advertising - Northeast
Phone (866) 918-2900; (610) 640-2985
Fax (610) 640-2849

Marc Basis
Vice President - National Sales Director - Benefits Advertising
Phone (866) 461-3045; (561) 740-8110
Fax (561) 740-8101

Michael Moody
Vice President - Alternative Risk
Phone (866) 536-9768; (352) 536-9768
Fax (866) 536-9864

Georgianna Quinn
Article Reprint Sales

The Insurance Marketplace

Eric Hall
Vice President - Advertising - National Sales Director

Dick Schoeninger
Vice President - Advertising - Northeast

Walter J. Gdowski
President & CEO

Samuel W. Berman
Executive Vice President, COO

Robert N. Kretzmer, CIC
Executive Director, Community Service Award

Charlene Taylor

Technical & Educational Products Division

Linda D. Ferguson, CPCU
Vice President, Technical and Educational Products

Bruce D. Hicks, CPCU, CLU
Senior Editor, Technical and Educational Products

Joseph J. Hunter-Lattak, CPCU
Editor, Technical and Educational Products

Editorial Offices
Phone (317) 582-1600
Fax (317) 816-1000

Internet address:

Phone (317) 582-1600
Fax (800) 321-1909

ROUGH NOTES (ISSN 0035-8525) is published monthly by The Rough Notes Co., Inc., 11690 Technology Dr., Carmel, IN 46032-5600. The Rough Notes Co., Inc. is a subsidiary of Insurance Publishing Plus Corporation, Walter J. Gdowski, President and Secretary; Samuel W. Berman, Vice President. Periodicals postage paid at Carmel, Indiana, and at additional mailing offices. Canadian Publications Agreement No. 40618128. Return undeliverable Canadian addresses to Station A, PO Box 54, Windsor, ON N9A 6J5, E-mail: Subscriptions: United States, one year, $29.75. Single copies, $3. Member of Business Publications Audit of Circulation, Inc. Printed in the U.S.A.

No part of this publication may be reproduced, translated, stored in a database or retrieval system, or transmitted in any form by electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording, or other means, except as expressly permitted by the publisher. For permission contact Samuel W. Berman.

POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Rough Notes, Subscription Department, 11690 Technology Drive, Carmel, IN 46032-5600